My name is Brooke, and I am a military girlfriend. I understand that in the militaries eyes, I am nothing, but in my sailors eyes I am his everything. My boyfriend has served for two years now and this is his first deployment. Im not a fancy writer or anything like that, just a girl starting a blog as a way to vent and possibly help others feel like they aren’t alone in this.

 

THE D WORD

Deployment is a BIG word to handle, I dont even like the word. Deployment for me means radio silence, sleepless nights, and constant worries. When my boyfriend told me he was going to deploy we were talking over the phone and I felt like a train had  just hit my body. I knew he was excited because this is what he has been waiting for, for months now, and I didnt want to ruin that for him but him leaving was my worst nightmare. I felt like I had to pretend that I was so happy, and not worried at all. When he told me he didnt know much of the details about it he just knew that it was for sure happening and it was happening soon.

In my head things couldn’t get worse, we were already over 2,000 miles away from each other and now we had to add even more distance. Im new at this I don’t know how to handle this in any way, shape or form. This is terrifying, and I get that we are not married yet but this is what I signed up for. I just keep telling myself that we knew this day was going to come and it would just be like boot camp we say. Just a really long bootcamp.

Its going to be a really long and scary ride but it’ll all be worth it in the end when he comes home safely, and I can finally see him again. Its only been 2 months since we last saw each other which isn’t long at all. This deployment will make it the longest that we will go without seeing each other in the past seven years. Its gonna be a tough one.

So this is where it all begins…

 

 

 

